Scor na bPaisti   09/04/2018


All Ireland glory bekons for both the FossaInstrumental Group and the Churchill Quiz team who will not alone be representing  both their Club and County but also their Province at theAll Ireland Finals of Scor Sinsear on this Saturday April 14th. The venue willbe the Knockrea Arena, I T Sligo with a starting time of 3pm with the Quiz at aseparate venue and will getting underway at the earlier time of 11am at thenearby Clayton Hotel.

CeolUrlise,(Instrumental Music)

Contae Chiarraí will be represented in theCeól  Úrlise by
Fossa GAA Club.

At the recent Munster Finals when they became champions of
 Munster ontheir fourth attempt, having previously competed in the Munster
finals of 2011, 2013, and 2017.. There were tears of joy shed when the
result was announced and no doubt the experience of the
three previous unsuccessful attempts, made the victory all the sweeter. The
successful quintet are siblings Mike Kelliher, Sean Kelliher,  and Mary
Kelliher, along with Cian O'Sull;ivan and Amy Moriarty .  Fossa has aproud
tradition of instrumental music stemming from Lord Headley's piper James
Gandsey in the late 18th and  early 19th century. More recently the late
John Cronin, as well as Padraig and Tadhg Buckley have been far renowned.
Co Chiarraí have never won at Ceól Úrlise at senior level so Fossa will behoping to make

TrathNa gCeist. (Question Time).

Churchill have a strong tradition in Quizeshaving competed in the first scor final in 1971, when they were beaten byBallygar of Galway by one point who had the famous Galway footballer MattieMcDonagh on their team. Captain of that Churchill team was present day coachJohn Joe O Donnell. The present team won back to back All Irelands  in2014 and 2015 and were beaten in the 2016 decider by one point. Alex o Donnellson of John Joe was on all these three teams. Churchill hardest opponents havebeen their great rivals Rathmore in the County Finals and once again just onepoint seperated the sides at this years Final. Churchill will be travelling toSligo hoping to win their third All Ireland in five years. The men who will behoping to get back on the winning trail once again will be Michael Gaynor, PaulCulloty, John Flaherty, Alex O Donnell.



In excessof 250 children at National School level represented their respective Clubs atthe County Semi Finals of Scor Na bPaisti  which  took place at two different venues over lastweekend where this very popular competition brought out patrons in huge numbersand who were entertained for over a three hour period with the very best ofMusic, song dance and act by very talented  children who were a credit to their parentsand Tutors. Two from each category were selected to go through to the CountyFinals from both venues which will take place on Sunday April 22ndat the Community Centre, Foilmore. The first semi finalon Saturday April 7th with North Kerry Football Board CulturalOfficer, P J Mulvihill as Fear a Ti which took in North of the County with fiveDistricts Boards taking part; North Kerry Football, North Kerry Hurling,Castleisland District, West Kerry, Tralee/St. Brendans and the venue here wasthe Marian, Hall Moyvane

Then it wason to the Community Centre in Glenbeigh on Sunday April 8th wherethe participants from South of the County took part. On this occasion therewere four District Boards taking part; East Kerry, Kenmare District, Mid Kerryand South Kerry. Here we had Bean a Ti Suzanne Ni Laoighre Secretary of theSouth Kerry Board doing an excellent job; 

A hugethank you to both the Marian Hall Moyvane and the Community Centre, Glenbeighfor hosting the event and making sure everything was in place making it anothersuccessful venture. 

So thefollowing are those going through to the County Finals on Sunday April 22ndin the Community Centre, Foilmore with a starting time of 2pm.


Lispole,West Kerry Board 

Aoibhionn Ni Ghealbhain,  MaireadNi Dhubhaigh, Ella Ni Ainfein, Aisling Ni Dhubhaigh, Sadhbh Madeley, Hannah NiDhubhain, Orla Ni Ghrifin, Eimear Ni Chonchuir.

Ballymacelligott,CastleislandDistrict Board.

Emma Ni Dhalaigh, Abby Ni Laocha, Mairead Ni Scanlain, Ri-Ann Zhang,Laura No Cheallaigh, Maire Ni Chonchuir, Aibhe Ni Chonchuir.

DromidPearses. South Kerry Board

Amy Ni Churrain, Grace Ni Churrain, Saoirse Ni Churrain, Emily Ni She,Sarah Ni She, Tara Ni Shuilleabhain, Saidbh Ni Ghadhra Ni Shuilleabhain,Makayla Ni Shuilleabhain,. Subs Mary Ann Ni Shuilleabhain, Regina NiShuilleabhain, Siun Ni Churrain.

Glenflesk.East Kerry Board

Keira O Sullivan, Muireann Healy, Niamh Cantilon, Maeve Darcy, AbbyDoherty, Grace Angland, Coleen Angland, Olivia Angland. Sub. Emiear Furlong.

LauneRangers. Mid Kerry Board.

Abigail O Shea, JacquelynOwens, laura Patton, Sarah Patton, Sarah Guerin,Rebecca Purcell, Saoirse O Shea, Clodagh Hamilton.



Meadhbh MC Nulty, An Gaeltacht, West Kerry Board

Lily Parker, Churchill, Tralee/St. Brendans.

Laura Power, Firies, East Kerry Board

Ellen O Sullivan, Foilmore, South Kerry Board.


Stefan Carrig, Ballyduff, North Kerry Hurling 

Than Creed, Beale, North Kerry Football

Aine Devlin, Legion, East Kerry Board

Fiontan O Suilleabhain, Renard


Moyvane,North Kerry Football.

Mary Kearney, Conor Kissane, Aoibhinn McCarthy, Jack O Donoghue, RebekahSheehy.

St.Pats, Tralee/St Brendans.

Siobhain O Sullivan, Caoimhe O Sullivan, Keelin Enright, Daniel Sheehy,Sarah Brett.

Glenflesk,East Kerry Board

Gearoid Healy, Muireann Healy, Molly O Donoghue, Aoise O Donoghue, EilisMuillane.

Waterville,South Kerry Board

Joni Curran, Mary Elizabeth O Connell, Holly Galvin, Lieve Duff, IndiaDuff, 

RinceSean Nos.

Harry O Sullivan, St. Senans, North Kerry Football.

Sean O Keeffe, Gneevguilla, East Kerry Board.

Sean Kissane, Beaufort, Mid Kerry Board.


St.Pats, Tralee St. Brendans.

Diarmuid Waugh, Orlaith Murphy, Siobhain O Sullivan, Caoimhe O Sullivan,Rachael Mulgrrew, Oisin Gallagher, Thomas Sheehy, Keelin Enright.

Moyvane,North Kerry Football

Aoife Curran, Grace Harrison, Mary Kearney, Diarmuid O Connor, Patrick OConnor, Jack O Donoghue, Bobby O Riordan, Sarah Quinn.

Renard.  South Kerry Board.

Fintan O Sullivan, Ella Sheehan, Cara McCrohan, Caoilinn Lynch, Brian OConnell, Orla Fitzgerald, Stephen O Sullivan, Sine O Neill.


Crotto ONeills, North Kerry Hurling.

Conor Brennan, Cillian Hussey, Roisin Abatha, Thomas Breen, Eoin Griffin.

TraleeParnels. Tralee/St. Brendans.

Peadar Duaghal, Jessica McGibney, Sean Michael Redican, CathalFitzgerald.

Kilcummin,East Kerry Board.

Olwyn Evans, Ewan Evans, Ryan McGuirl, Michael Healy, Liam Kerrisk.

Glenbeigh/Glencar, Mid Kerry Board

Orlaith Burke, Eadaoin O Sullivan, Seodhla O Donovan, Aela Murphy, MaryKate Smith.


Scartaglin,Castleisland District.

Muireann Walsh, Mikeala Buckley, Molly Mahony, Tara Kerin, Laura McShane, Muireann Rahilly, Jessica Riordan,Maire Collins. 

Ballyduff,North Kerry Hurling.

Luke Rochford, Caoimhe O Carroll, Killian Murphy, Laurin Murphy,Christopher Ross, Eabha O Connor, Tadhg O Connor, Aibhe Frizella.   

DromidPearses. South Kerry Board.

Brid Ni Churrain, Grace Ni Churrain,Saoirse Ni Churrain, Emily Ni She, Sarah Ni She, Tara Ni Shuilleabhain, SaidbhNi Ghardhra Ni Shuilleabhain, Makayla Ni Shuilleabhain,. Sub Amy Ni Churrain   

Spa.East Kerry Board.

Siofra Brosnan, Jess O Sullivan, Aine OSullivan, Ciara O Donoghue, Dara Brosnan, Diarmuid O Donovan, Oisin O Sullivan,Colm O Connor.                                                                                         


For  the County Finals of theTable Quiz It is important to note that those clubs taking part in the Quiz(4-in-a-team) should  have their nameswith Scor Secretary Suzanne Ni Laoire not later than Friday April 13th.This is a seperate competition with competing clubs coming together on Sunday morning April 22nd at the IntermediateSecondary School Killorglin at the earlier time of 11am.