Clubs - Knocknagoshel

Kit: Green & Gold


Officers 2019

President; Tom O’Connell

Vice Presidents; Christy Brosnan, Lar Hickey, Micheal Walsh, Richie Walsh, Thomas O’Connor, Eamonn Walsh, Dan Neligan, Sean Lyons, Paud Scanlon

Patron; Fr. David Gunn

Chairperson; Dan Roche

Vice Chairperson; Noel Brosnan

Secretary; John O'Keeffe

Assistant Secretary; Mike Murphy

Treasurer; Anna Marie Curtin

Assistant Treasurer; Kathleen Curtin

Children’s Officer; Liam Bell

Club coaching /Games Coordinator; Shane O'Connell

Development Officer; Dan Neligan

Disciplinary/A.S.A.P. Officer; Der Keane

Safety Officer; Danny Walshe

Cultural Officer; Mary Browne

Website Co-ordinator; Shane O’Connell

County Board Delegate; Mike Murphy, Proxy; Seán McElligott

North Kerry Board Delegate; Der Keane

St. Kieran’s Delegate(s); Jack O’Connell, Noel Brosnan

Under 21 Team Management; Shane O'Connell and Mike Murphy

Public Relations Officer; TBC

Club History

The club was formally founded in 1932 when Fr. Bob Walsh came here as curate but football was played in this parish long before the GAA was founded. There were parish leagues and matches with neighbouring parishes Brosna, Duagh and Abbeyfeale. The first mention of Knocknagoshel Club was when four members of the club presented an address of welcome to Parnell when he visited Listowel in 1891. There were no County Championship matches played in Kerry in the years 1898, 1899, 1906, 1915, 1927 or 1935 and the competition was not finished in the years 1920 to 1924. The better players joined clubs that took part in the County Championship. Jack McElligott played with Ballymacelligott in 1918 and Eddie Walsh played with North Kerry in 1938.

Knocknagoshel won the Castleisland District League in 1941, 1944 and again in 1946.

Knocknagoshel have won the North Kerry League in 1978 and 1983 and 1997.

Knocknagoshel have won the County Novice Championship twice on their own in 1987 and 1997 and with some Brosna players in 1969. They have also won the Novice Shield
Championship in 2004.

In 1950 the Castleisland District team, containing Knocknagoshel players won the County Championship and in 1988 St. Kieran's team with Knocknagoshel players again won the Championship.

Knocknagoshel footballers who have played with Kerry Minors are Mossie Walsh. Bertie Murphy, Sean O Connor, Eamonn Walsh, Jack O'Connell, Padraig Reidy and James Walsh. Knocknagoshel footballers who have played with Kerry Seniors are Jack McElligott(1), Eddie Walsh(4), Eddie Roche(2). Sean McCarthy, Sean O'Connor. Sean McElligott, Jack O'Connell, Eamonn Walsh and Mike Brosnan.

Bertie and Jack Murphy have played for Dublin and for Leinster, John Fitzgerald has played for Kildare, Tim O Connor has played for Wexford and Denis Roche has played for Tipperary.

Two Knocknagoshel ladies have won All Ireland medals playing with Kerry. They are Noreen Long (nee Thompson) and Mary Scanlon (nee Lane). In 1960 Fr. Walsh bought '' The Inch'' from Michael Cahill and presented it to the club.

In 1999 Richie Walsh presented the club with the site for a new playing pitch and club house. These have been developed and a gymnasium added and was officially opened in May 2004.

Roll of Honour
Castleisland District League: 1941, 1944, 1946
North Kerry League: 1978, 1983, 1997
County Novice Championship: 1969, 1987, 1997
Novice Shield Championship: 2004