PRO News   11/11/2019


Bernard O Callaghan Senior Football Championship 2019
Sponsored by Mc Munns Ballybunion
Quarter FinalReport by Mairead O SullivanFinuge 0.11 v Brosna 1.13
This was a fairly open game of football with both sides wanting to attack, it was Finuge on the scoreboard first with a converted free by Darragh Mackessy. But the score of the half was Brosna's opening point from the boot of Patrick Moriarty, Finuge replied with a point from Pat Corridan, quickly added to by team mate Colin Sheehy, with Finuge now 2 points up, it was Brosna's Paul Walsh who kept his side in touch, with his free taking skills converted two awarded free's in the 8th and 12th minutes, again Walsh split the posts from play in the 13th minute to bring Brosna in front for the first time and from here on in Finuge chased the game.  Brosna added three more points to their first half tally to Finuge two points coming from a free by Colin Sheehy and a point from Shane Conway.  Half time score Brosna 0.07  v Finuge 0.05

Second half and Brosna owned the ball from the throw in with 3 fast points from Kieran O Donnell, Tom McGoldrick and Dave Curtin, that is not to say Finuge did not have their chances with an attempt on goal being saved in the 2 minute of the half. Finuges response came in the 10th minute with a point from sub Jamie Galvin, again Finuge were on the attack with a point from corner forward Darragh Mackessey.  The play swayed from end to end and the game came to a deadlock, until Tom McGoldrick Brosna popped the ball over the bar, the response came from a peach of a point kicked by Raymond Galvin Finuge, With three between the sides and both full forwards exchanging points in the 21st and 22nd minutes.  But the nail in the coffin came for Finuge when the only goal of the game came in the 27th minute after a well worked one two pass between Adam Barry and Timmy Finnegan, only for Finnegan on the return pass to rattle the back of the Finuge net.  Finuge still fought hard adding two more points and had an awarded penalty saved in injury time.  But Brosna play smart holding the ball were needed to see out the game and now march on into the Semi Finals Full time Score Brosna 1.13 v Finuge 0.11pts

Referee Dermot Hughes Listowel Emmets

Quarter FinalReport by Sean MoriartyDuagh 1.07 v St Senans 2.11
Frank Sheehy Park, Listowel was the venue for the second Quarter-Final in the 2019 Bernard O' Callaghan Memorial Senior Football Championship, sponsored by McMunns Bar and Restaurant Ballybunion, between reigning champions St. Senans and Duagh. The large crowd were treated to a belter of a game when this year's championship burst to life. St. Senans opened the scoring through a free from Sean O' Connell in the 2nd min,but it was obvious that Duagh were up for the battle and they proceeded to dominate affairs in the first quarter, Duagh danger man Nigel O' Connor finished off a great move to the net in the 4th min and the same player pointed from play in the 8th min and from a free in the 15th put Duagh 1-02 to 0-01 ahead at this point. St. Senans needed a score badly and full forward Sean Weir provided it with a goal in the 16th min.Nigel O' Connor fired over from play a minute later, at which point St. Senans switched talisman defender Sean T Dillon onto him,in an effort to curb his influence on the game, something he succeeded in doing. Duagh would not score for the remainder of the half as St. Senans notched 1-03 without reply. St. Senans captain, Jason Browne goaled in the 22nd min and along with points from Sean O' Connell (2) and Sean Weir, left the half-time score reading St. Senans  2-04  Duagh  1-03.Duagh made two changes at the break and as in the first half, they dominated the first 10mins of play. Duagh missed two scorable frees before Martin Scanell converted one in the 36th min. Anthony Maher who was now operating at the edge of the square pointed from play in the 38th min and when Nigel O' Connor lasered over a 45' a minute later, there was the minimum between the sides. It was all to play for now as both sets of supporters got behind their team. Paudie Quille who was very impressive in the second half pointed from play before Duagh suffered a further blow losing Kieran Lucey to a red card as we entered the final quarter. Barry Mahony who had a very impressive hour was pulling the strings for St. Senans as they added a further 3pts, through substitute Conor Kennelly, Sean O' Connell and Paudie Quille to put 5pts between the sides with 8mins to play. St. Senans however then lost star defender Sean T Dillon to a red card following a melee with 5mins to play but it was too late for Duagh. Martin Scannell did point for them on the stroke of normal time but it was St. Senans who finished the strongest, scoring 3pts in the 5mins of additional time, 2pts from Paudie Quille and a free from Sean O' Connell to leave the full-time score when referee Eddie Barrett, Knocknagoshel who handled the game well, blew the final whistle at  St. Senans  2-11  Duagh  1-07.Overall Duagh played with great heart and did trouble the reigning champions with the intensity of their play but ultimately a lack of scoring power cost them. St. Senans are an impressive resolute outfit and they will not surrender their title easily.ST. SENANS: 1) James Barry 2) Mike Keane 3) Bill Keane 4) Kieran Lyons 5) Darragh Behan 6) Sean T. Dillon 7) Mark Behan 8) Barry Mahony 9) Jason Browne (C) (1-00) 10) Paudie Dillon 11) Paudie Quille (0-04) 12) Donal Hunt 13) Sean O' Connell (0-05) 14) Sean Weir (1-01) 15) Eoin O' Connell 18) Conor Kennelly (0-01) for Donal Hunt 19) Eamon Shanahan for Mark Behan 17) David Behan for Jason Browne 22) Con O' Keeffe for Paudie Dillon 25) Cillian Trant for Darragh Behan 20) Donnacha Brosnan for Kieran LyonsDUAGH: 1) Jer Kelly 2) Luke O' Donnell 3) Aaron O' Connor 4) Dara Joy 5) John Joy 6) Tom Scanlon 7) Diarmuid Foley 8) Anthony Maher (C) (0-01) 9) Maurice O' Connor 10) Ger McCarthy 11) Michael Kirby 12) Martin Scannell (0-02) 13) Peter Sheeran 14) Kieran Lucey 15) Nigel O' Connor (1-04) Subs: 20) Darragh O' Connor for Diarmuid Foley 13) Daniel )' Donoghue for Peter Sheeran 22) Kieran Quirke for John Joy 21) Ed Stack for Ger McCarthyREFEREE: Eddie Barrett, Knocknagoshel

Bob Stack Memorial U21 ChampionshipSponsored by Dennehy Vetenary Clinic DuaghQuarter FinalEmmets 4.11 v Ballylongford/Asdee 2.06
Fixtures: Bernard O Callaghan Senior Football Championship 2019
Sponsored by Mc Munns BallybunionNeutral VenuesQuarter Finals Extra Time

Ballyduff v Castleisland Desmonds  –Sunday 17th November @ 2 pm E.T Venue Duagh

Tarbert v Ballydonoghue – Saturday 23rd November @ 2 pm E.T. Venue: T.B.C 

Bernard O Callaghan Championship Dates for the Diary
Semi FinalsReplay in the event of a drawSunday 24th November & Sunday 1st December
FinalReplay in the event of a drawSunday 15th December @ Venue: T.B.C
Final ReplayIn the event of a drawSunday 22nd December @ 2. pm E.T Venue: T.B.C 

Bob Stack Memorial U 21 ChampionshipSponsored by Dennehy Vetenary Clinic DuaghQuarter FinalSaturday 16th November @ 2.30 pm E.T. Venue: Desmonds, Castleisland 
Brosna/Knocknagoshel/Duagh v Finuge
Semi FinalSaturday 16th November @ 2.30 pm E.T. Venue: FinugeBeale v Listowel Emmets
Brendan Boyle Junior Cup
Sponsored by Moloney, McCarthy & Associates Accountant and Tax Advisors ListowelSemi Final
Sunday 17th November @ 12.30 pm E.T Venue: Coolard
St Senans B v Ballylongford B 

The North Kerry Football Board finals of Scór na nÓg will take place on Sunday 1st of December at 7pm with Venue TBC. This Competition is for people under the age of 17 and is divided into 8 disciplines:
Figure DancingSolo SingingRecitationBallad GroupNovelty ActInstrumental MusicSet DancingQuiz
If you are interested in taking part or require more information please contact PJ Mulvihill on 086 - 7886301 before November 26th..