Asdee GAA   14/04/2019

Beale 2-11 Asdee 1-6

Beale came out on top in the second round of the Junior Championship by eight points, which does not tell the full story of a game that was within a score or two for the most part. 

Beale, playing with a strong wind, started the stronger of the two teams and raced into four point lead with two points each from James McMahon and Ger Gorman. 

Asdee’s first score of the game was a Cyril Dineen goal, brilliantly fisting to the net from a Darragh Keane delivery. Cormac Linnane responded with a point for Beale, with Sean Keane quickly following up with a well-taken point. 

Beale then took advantage of a misplaced pass resulting in Callum McSweeney scoring a goal. Asdee bounced back with Paul O’Carroll and Darragh Keane notching over a point each to, before Ger Gorman pointed just before the break. Half time score was Beale 1-6 Asdee 1-3.

In the second half, Callum McSweeney added another point for Beale, with Darragh Keane replying with a point for Asdee. For large periods of the second half, Asdee enjoyed plenty of possession but were guilty of missing numerous chances. 

James McMahon scored a beautiful point from distance before a turning point in the game came when John Doran was very harshly dismissed for a second yellow card after 42 minutes. Asdee rallied and Darragh Keane added two points to bring the deficit to two points.

Beale responded with a point from Cormac Linnane before Fionn Toomey ghosted into space to punch a ball to the back of the Asdee net.

Asdee to their credit, took the game to Beale, but out of the many attacking positions our attempts for goal were denied or shots for points going narrowly wide.

Ger Gorman added two late points for Beale to leave the full time score, Beale 2-11 Asdee 1-6. Asdee showed plenty of fighting spirit, yet will be disappointed not to have been closer in spite of the sending off and being missing a number of starting players.

Asdee Team: J. Kelly, C. Keane, M. Collins, C. Carmody, J. Keane, J. Doran, D. O’Connor, M. Breen, K. Kelly, D. Russell, S. Keane, P. O’Carroll, S. Lynch, C. Dineen, D. Keane. Subs: O. Tydings, J. Collins, K. McNamara, E. Kennedy, S. Doran, B. Coughlan, M O’Hanlon.

Beale: M O’ Sullivan, S O’Sullivan, C Kissane, J Griffin, F Toomey, K Walsh-O’Boyle, J King, D Hayes, P Blake, F Linnane, C Linnane, G Gorman, C McSweeney, J McMahon, P Horgan.