Ballydonoghue GAA   18/06/2018

CLUB LOTTO: Last week's Club Lotto Draw took place at Tomaisin’s numbers drawn were 06,12,16,32. There was no winner. The winners of the lucky dips were: Catriona Dee, James Parrish, Ballybunion, Gemma O’Mahony, Moybella. Sarah Breen c/o Darren O’Connor (online). Dan O’Donoghue, Bedford.

Free Ticket winners: Donal Foley, Ballybunion. Shauna Dowling, Coolard. Doireann Foley, Moybella.

Next week’s draw, for a jackpot of €6,900 will take place in The Thatch at 10:30 on Friday night.

FIXTURES: NKL Div 4B semi-final play-off Ballydonoghue C v Duagh B on Tuesday June 19th in Moyvane at 7.30pm.

Co. Junior League Group 3 Round 4; Ballydonoghue B away to Milltown/Castlemaine B on Friday June 22nd at 7.30pm.

RESULTS: Co. SFL Div 3 Lispole 0-11. Ballydonoghue 1-11.

Both sides were sitting on four points before this game so points were crucial to both teams to pull them clear of the relegation zone. Following on from that it was clear early on that both sides were intent in not conceding early scores. It took eleven minutes before the first score in the game from a Declan O’Sullivan free. A Paul Kennelly free opened the Ballydonoghue account and Eamon Walsh put Ballydonoghue in front soon afterwards. After the early cautiousness between the sides the game began to open up after this with neither side being able to afford the loss of two valuables points. Ballydonoghue began to show more composer in front of goals and after Paul Kennelly, Thomas Kennelly and Lispole’s Tomas O Ciobhan and Declan O’ Sullivan exchanged points Ballydonoghue kicked three on the trot and had a great goal chance saved by Lispole goalie Alan O’ Sullivan. Lispole pulled one back on the stroke of half time with a Declan O’Sullivan point. Half Time Ballydonoghue 0-7. Lispole 0-4.

Ballydonoghue started where the left off with two early points the later a great long range Micheàl Foley effort. But Lispole were not going away and two points a piece from Deaclan O’Sullivan (two frees) and Tomas O Ciobhan from play left just a point between the sides eight points to nine in Ballydonoghue’s favour. The crucial score came in the fourteen minute after a great Ballydonoghue move started by a Thomas Kennelly break up field, taken on by Darragh Sheehy before being finished to the net by Jack Foley.  Lispole were now facing an uphill battle but thanks to some great fielding by midfielder Micheal (Jim) Mac Gearailt Lispole were gaining valuable possession and Declan O’Sullivan pulled a point back a few minutes later. Lispole then started to rain down high ball on top of the Ballydonoghue goals but Ballydonoghue were equal to the task with Stephen Lonergan leading by example breaking up several attacks and John Enright throwing his body on the line to stop a Declan O’ Sullivan shot. Lispole’s task wasn’t made any easier when they had a player red carded for a second yellow offence. Both sides kicked two points apiece in the final minutes to leave that Jack Foley goal between the teams at the final whistle. Ballydonoghue 1-11. Lispole 0-11.

Ballydonoghue Darragh O’ Shea, Conor Kennelly, John Enright, Stephen Lonergan, Thomas Kennelly, Padraig Enright, Daniel Power, Micheàl Foley, Martin O’ Mahony, Jim Cremin, Paul Kennelly, Daragh Sheehy, Jack Foley, Eamon Walsh, Diarmuid Behan. 

Subs: Darren O’Connor, Kieran O’Connell, Kevin O’Donnell, Joseph Lynch, Stephen Foley, Declan Behan, Padraig Lyons, Dermot O’Connor, Jack O’Connor, William Kissane, Damien O’Carroll, Billy Foley (inj).