Scor   16/04/2018


Churchill crowned 2018 All Ireland Senior Trath Na gCeisteanna Championswhile in the Ceol Uirlise Fossa failed in their bid to get the Adjudicators noddespite putting on a stunning performance on Saturday last. Represented in theAdjudicators panel in the Solo Singing discpline was Karen Trench, fromListowel  who herself is very involved inall aspects of our National Culture.

The day got off to a memorable start at the Clayton Hotel Sligo with astarting time of 11am where the Churchill team of Alex O Donnell, Mike Gaynor,John Flaherty and Paul Culloty secured their 3rd All Ireland Titlein a five year period and in doing so surpassing all expectations with astaggering tally of 74 marks out of a possible 80 over the remaining 29 teams.They completely dominated proceedings leaving their nearest challengers Offalysix points adrift having led all the way. Afterwards to the delight of theirsupporters they were presented with their All Ireland Quiz medals by the newUachtaranChumann Luthchleas Gael John Horan. 

Moving on to the next part of the programme and this took place at thepacked nearby Knockrea Arena, I T Sligo commencing at 3pm where the remainingseven discplines took part. The Fossa Instrumental Music Group of Amy Moriarty, Mary Kelliher,Sean Kelliher,Cian O Sullivan and Mike Kelliher having given a magnificentperformance just failed in their bid to bring further success to their Clubafter appearing in their second All Ireland in a three year period. All thesefive participants represented their, Families, Club and County with great prideand dignity and were indeed worthy ambassadors to carry the County Colours onthe day. Unfortunately they failed to get the adjudicators nod on this occasionbut no doubt their time will come quickly for this highly talented group. 


This SundayApril 22nd the curtain will come down on all Scor activities for2017/18 and will be a

special dayfor the National School children from around the County who have qualified fortheCounty Finals of Scor Na bPaisti, which will be held in the CommunityCentre, Foilmore with competitions commencing at 2pm sharp. Certainly since this popular  competition which was first introduced in2004 at National School level, later to be ran by the Clubs and was thebrainchild of the late Siobhain Cotter who was Secretary of Scor Na Nog in theCounty at the time has gone from strength to strength and if the Semi Finals atboth the Marian Hall Moyvane and the Community Centre, Glenbeigh are anythingto go by the expected huge following are sure to have a marvellous daysentertainment.        

There willbe eight Districts Boards represented; Mid Kerry, South Kerry, East Kerry, WestKerry, North Kerry Football, North Kerry Hurling, Castleisland District andTralee/St. Brendans.There will be medals for both winners and runners up andcerticifates for everybody competing; also the Siobhain Cotter Memorial Shield,sponsored by Estuary Print, Ballylongford which was introduced in 2008 by theCoiste Scor Chairrai will be on display and presented to the overall Club atthe end of the competition.  A furtherpresentation will also be made to the Club who has participated most in Scordiscplines over the duration of competitions which takes in; Scor Sinsear, ScorNa nOg and Scor Na bPaisti and will be known as the Healy/O Connor PerpetutialCup which was kindly jointly sponsored by “Trophy World”, Tralee and EstuaryPrint, Ballylongford  This competitionfinishes at County level and will come to a conclusion at this stage.

QUIZ.  All Clubs takingpart in the Quiz are reminded that this part
of the programme is now seperate from  the remainder of the event;
this is due to a change in the format of Scor. The venue  with an 11am
start will be the Intermediate School Killorglin. All Clubs involved
in the finals must be present well in advance of the 11am starting

So thefollowing are those clubs going through to the County Finals on Sunday April 22ndin the Community Centre, Foilmore with a starting time of 2pm.


Lispole,West Kerry Board 

Ballymacelligott,CastleislandDistrict Board.

DromidPearses. South Kerry Board

Glenflesk.East Kerry Board

LauneRangers. Mid Kerry Board.



MeadhbhMC Nulty, An Gaeltacht, West Kerry Board

LilyParker, Churchill, Tralee/St. Brendans.

LauraPower, Firies, East Kerry Board

Ellen OSullivan, Foilmore, South Kerry Board.


StefanCarrig, Ballyduff, North Kerry Hurling 

ThanCreed, Beale, North Kerry Football

AineDevlin, Legion, East Kerry Board

FiontanO Suilleabhain, Renard


Moyvane,North Kerry Football.

St.Pats, Tralee/St Brendans.

Glenflesk,East Kerry Board

Waterville,South Kerry Board

RinceSean Nos.

Harry O Sullivan, St. Senans, North Kerry Football.

Sean O Keeffe, Gneevguilla, East Kerry Board.

Sean Kissane, Beaufort, Mid Kerry Board.


St.Pats, Tralee St. Brendans.

Moyvane,North Kerry Football

Renard.  South Kerry Board.


Crotto ONeills, North Kerry Hurling.

TraleeParnels. Tralee/St. Brendans.

Kilcummin,East Kerry Board.

Glenbeigh/Glencar,Mid Kerry Board


Scartaglin,Castleisland District.

Ballyduff,North Kerry Hurling.

DromidPearses. South Kerry Board.

Spa.East Kerry Board.